Meet Our Team

We serve the people who serve the public. Please get in touch with us individually or at one of our three centers: The Center for Government Excellence (GovEx), GovEx Academy, and the Center for Applied Public Research.

Beth Blauer

Beth Blauer is the Executive Director and co-founder of the Centers for Civic Impact at Johns Hopkins University (Civic Impact). As a dedicated public servant and international expert on government performance programs for more than  fifteen years, Beth Blauer spent her career working to improve people’s lives by bringing data into governments’ decision-making processes. 

Blauer founded Civic Impact, originally as the Center for Government Excellence, in 2015 and since then, has successfully worked with over 140 mayors from around the globe to advance the use of data and evidence. She has built the organization to be a leader in data-driven insights for city leaders and public sector practitioners across the country and around the world.

Prior to leading the Centers for Civic Impact, Blauer designed and launched Socrata’s GovStat platform for federal, state, and local governments. 

Having entered public service as a juvenile probation officer in Maryland, Blauer was quickly promoted within the department, quickly becoming the Chief of Staff. It was in this capacity she began working on the creation and implementation of “StateStat.” In 2008, then Governor Martin O’Malley asked Blauer to lead his nationally recognized StateStat program. 

Blauer graduated with a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Maryland and holds a JD from New York Law School. She is a recipient of the 2012 CAP award for her work on Maryland’s StateStat.

Angel Aliseda
Researcher, GovEx
Gabriel Alvaro
Economic Mobility Program Coordinator, GovEx
Jessica Arends
Instructional Designer, GovEx
Kati Asbury
Lead Developer, GovEx
Michael Benison
Course Manager, GovEx
Sara Bertran de Lis
Data Scientist, GovEx
Courtney Bettle
Senior Advisor, Economic Mobility, GovEx
Heather Bree
Data Visualization and D3 Developer, GovEx
Mary Colleen Buettner
Senior Advisor, GovEx
Meg Burke
Community Manager, GovEx
Sarah Buzogany
Senior Advisor, GovEx
Marlene Caceres
Quantitative Analyst, GovEx
Madelyn Carlson
Program Associate, Bloomberg Center for Public Innovation
Liz Carney
Data Manager, GovEx
Chance Carter
Researcher, GovEx
Amanda Daflos
Executive Director, Bloomberg Center for Public Innovation
Tiffany Davis
Deputy Director, Center for Government Excellence (GovEx)
Rudy de Leon Dinglas
Data & Performance Practice Manager, GovEx
Bridget Dean
Knowledge Management Associate, GovEx
Tim Dodd
Instructor, GovEx
Zach Earl
Full Stack Programmer, GovEx
Trevor Ebert
Administrative Coordinator, GovEx
Jane Ebot-Bish
Senior Advisor, GovEx
Lauren Elliott
Marketing Associate, Bloomberg Center for Public Innovation
Akeish Forsythe
Academic Program Manager, GovEx
Russ Frith
Quantitative Analyst, GovEx
Dane Galloway
Researcher, GovEx
Jacquie Greiff
Monitoring and Evaluation Associate
Jovan Hackley
Communications Director, Bloomberg Center for Public Innovation
Jen Horton
Senior Advisor, GovEx
Danielle Holland
Content Manager, Bloomberg Center for Public Innovation
Amber Ivey
Director, Center for Government Excellence (GovEx)
Makea King
Knowledge Management Associate, GovEx
Adam Lee
Data Visualization Analyst, GovEx
Promise Maswanganye
Administrative Specialist, GovEx
Katie Medina
Monitoring and Evaluation Associate
Miriam McKinney Gray
Data Analyst, GovEx
Amy Miller
Strategist, Bloomberg Center for Public Innovation
Ben Miller
Technology Officer
Dillon Moore
Front End Developer, GovEx
Jarrett Nguyen
Program Coordinator, Bloomberg Center for Public Innovation
Andrew Nicklin
Futurist At Large
Stephen O'Connor
Multimedia Production Associate, GovEx
Nikola Pavelić
Senior Advisor, Bloomberg Center for Public Innovation
Ken Perkins
Budget Specialist, GovEx
Josh Porterfield
Technical Writer (CRC/PDI)
Moses Pounds
Knowledge Officer
Megan Prior
Financial Manager
Corey Rhoades
What Works Cities Program Coordinator, GovEx
Rose Rodriguez
Senior Advisor, Bloomberg Center for Public Innovation
Emily Shaw
Monitoring and Evaluation Officer
Jeremy Sierra
Senior Writer, Bloomberg Center for Public Innovation
Galina Stolarsky
Project Manager, GovEx
Lisa Twiss
Curriculum and Instructional Developer, GovEx
Mary Conway Vaughan
Lead Program Coordinator, GovEx

Contact Us

Phone: 410-516-4152